Dear Church, Dear Friends: A letter to my Worldwide Church Family about Mental Illness

My super dear friend, Alyssa, has once again proven to me that her brain might just be one of my favorite things in the world with this post that she posted onto her own blog a few hours ago. She gave me permission it onto my blog, because we both agree that the world should be well-informed of this thing that everybody thinks is so wrong. Please enjoy and be sure to check out her blog!

http://thepixielinguist.wordpress.com

Pixie Linguist

      In my many years of church-going I have seen some less than stellar reactions to and representations of mental illness. That is not to say that I have not encountered very positive ones as well, but that the negative ones have been enough to merit concern. This subject has been brought to the forefront of my mind after a number of conversations with people close to me. It began with an overheard conversation: a friend of mine was explaining how, while frustrating, mental health diagnoses can also be freeing. Having a diagnosis meant that their difficulties were not indicative of moral weakness or failure, but a chemical problem. This got me thinking about the nature of mental illness, and what God thinks about it. I began to question the notions I had heard from pulpits and in Christian literature that people who were depressed just needed to pray harder…

View original post 587 more words

Leave a Reply

