Preach It, White Girl.

“But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.”

– 1 Peter 2:9

Our identity is in Christ, and not in who we are.

We live in a society that is obsessed with knowing who we are. We get on Facebook and see millions of shared posts with links asking, “Which country should you actually be from?” and “Which member of One Direction should you be with?” We read ‘legitimate articles’ written by ‘legitimate writers’ that want to inform us “20 Things Twenty-Somethings Should All Know” or “15 Things You Should Do Before You Get Married.” We judge others — and ourselves — and put ourselves in a box of our personality and our interests without realizing that we are on this Earth to profess and share the Gospel and to be more like Jesus. 

I know… Because I’ve done and read all of these things.

Pais has a personality test that tells you what you are and how you help in the Lord’s kingdom based on what color you are:

  • Gold: Organized and administrative
  • Green: Logical and analytic
  • Blue: Understanding and compassionate
  • Orange: Spontaneous and flexible

And while these are all good things, people can add negative stereotypes on all of them. These past few weeks, I’ve heard a couple of these phrases quite a few times (even coming from my mouth)…

  • “Oh, my gosh. That person’s soooo loud; they must be an Orange!”
  • “I’m a Green. I can’t have feelings.”
  • “I’m such a Gold. I don’t understand you, Orange people!”
  • “Oh… You’re a bit emotional… I bet you’re a Blue.”

Honestly, that’s like saying, “I’m a Gold-Green… I can’t be fun or care about others!”

That’s not how it works.

God has created us in the full spectrum, whether that’s completely how we’re like now or not, and He knows how to love us whatever color we may be. Don’t get me wrong — This color test is good. It’s good to understand how we work and how we go forth within ministry or socially, but we change like everything else in life, and so do our colors. I may not jump straight from an Orange from my Gold-Green personality, but I can grow to be more well-rounded.

We are all created in the image of Jesus, and for the longest time, I have not allowed myself to let Jesus have all of me in fears of not being enough. I’ve used lies, such as, “You are not smart enough,” “You are not pretty enough,” and even “You are not good enough” to back out of situations where I feel like better people could be used, and THIS IS A COP OUT. That’s like saying, “I’m on the worship team. I am not called to go out and evangelize.”

Um, excuse me. That is the most incorrect thing I’ve ever heard.

God has entrusted us with more than one thing, and we need to stop putting ourselves in the box and just listen to the Man upstairs. Remember? WE are a chosen race. WE are a royal priesthood. WE are a holy nation. WE are a people for his own possession. WE are all of these things so that way we can proclaim HIM, because He sent His perfect son down to die on the cross for us! We may not be perfect, but in Him, we are perfected! We are all orange, blue, green, and gold, whether we feel comfortable with the colors or not.

We just need to be smart.

We can go to parties if we’re introverts; we just may need to rest more. We can be rational if we’re blues, we just need to focus a little bit more on the analytical side. We can give preaches in front of people if we get nervous or shy easily, we just need to pray more.

In fact, why don’t we all just in general pray more?
…pray that we become less of ourselves and our fears and our comfort zones… and more like Jesus.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.”

– 2 Corinthians 5:17

Leave a Reply

